Interesting conversations from “Room”

‘Room’ is a movie based on a novel ‘Room’ by Emma Donoghue. This beautiful movie has a cute 5 year old kid named Jack who had been isolated with his mom in ‘Room’, and one day they break out of that to the ‘World’ – watch the movie (available on Netflix and YouTube) trailer here. This blog is a compilation of the conversations in the movie.

Inside the Room

“Where do we go when we are asleep?”
Right here in Room.
“But dreams.. do we go to, into TV for dreaming?”
We are never anywhere but here..

“Jack, do you remember the mouse? Do you know where he is? He is on the other side of this wall..”
What other side?
“Jack, there’s two sides to everything”
But not at octagon.. octagon has 8 sides..
“Yeah, but.. a wall.. a wall like this, we’re on the inside and the mouse is on the outside”
You mean, in the outer space?
“No.. in the world. It’s much closer than the outer space”
I can’t see the outside-side..
“Where do you think old Nick gets our food?”
From TV, by magic!
“There is no magic. What you see on TV, those are pictures of real things, of real people. It’s real stuff..”
So… Dora is real for real?
“No, that’s a drawing. Dora is a drawing. But other people, they have faces like us. Those are pictures of real things and all the other stuff that you see on TV that’s real too.. that’s real ocean, real trees, reat cats, dogs..”
No way! Where do they all fit!
“They just do. They just fit out in the World.”

Though the skylight

“There’s a leaf. Do you see that?”
Dumb Ma! That’s not a leaf. Leaves are green..
“Yeah, but on trees. But then they fall and they rot, like salad in the fridge.”
Where’s all the stuff you said? Trees and dogs, cats and grass..
“We can’t see it from here because skylight looks upwards instead of sideways.”
You’re just tricking me.. Liar, liar, pants on fire!
“Jack! I couldn’t explain it before because you were too small.. You were too small to understand, so I had to make up a story, but now I’m doing the opposite. I’m doing the opposite of lying, I’m un-lying, because you’re five now. You’re old enough to understand what the World is. You have to understand. We can’t keep living like this.”
I want to be four again..

“Do you remember how Alice wasn’t always in Wonderland?”
She fell down. Deep in a hole.
“I wasn’t always in the Room. I’m like Alice. I was a girl named Joy. And I lived in a house with my mom and dad.”
What house?
“A house. It’s in the World”
A TV house?
“No, a real house. Not TV. Are you even Listening to me?”
I want a different story. THIS STORY IS BORING..!
“NO! This is the story that you get… I’ve been locked here in Room for 7 years, do you understand? Jack, the World is so big, it’s so big, you won’t even belive it… And Room is just, one stinky part of it.”
Room is not stinky! Only when you do a fart. I don’t believe in your stinky world.

“No, you’re not sorry! You have no idea what’s going on in my head. You don’t need me, you’ve been doing just fine without me.”
How can you say that? Do you think you’re the only one whose life was destroyed?
“Actually, that’s exactly how I feel.”
Really? How would you feel of somebody took Jack away from you? Look at him! You should be thinking about him..
“Don’t you tell me how to look after my son. I’m sorry that I’m not ‘nice’ anymore. But you know what? Maybe if your voice saying BE NICE hadn’t been in my head, I wouldn’t have helped the guy with the f****** sick dog!”

One of the most notable scenes:

Published by

mudita

Writing and Photography

One thought on “Interesting conversations from “Room””

Leave a comment